Celebrated stand-up Shaparak Khorsandi announces brand new 27-date tour

Celebrated stand-up Shaparak Khorsandi is set to take to the stage for a brand new 27-date tour beginning this autumn and running right through to May 2022.

In her new show, entitled IT WAS THE 90S!, Shaparak tackles the equally celebrated and maligned 1990s. For Shaparak this was the decade of her twenties, and ‘ladette’ culture ruled the skool. The decade of relative peace and prosperity when there was nothing to be done but party. With a sense that anything was possible, Shaparak found herself flying about London with hope in her heart, a tenner in her pocket and spare knickers in her handbag. Regularly matching the boys pint-for-pint and frequently waking up in parts of London she’d never heard of.

With hindsight, though, the way people behaved back then – whilst it felt like liberation – looks like the ultimate in self harm. In those days, ‘mindfulness’ was making sure you had enough money for the night bus and ‘self-care’ was putting your flat shoes in a handbag.

This is a show about how we 90s kids are looking to young people to learn how to take care of ourselves, because if you survived the car crash of being a 90s kid, then surely Things Can Only Get Better.

Shaparak established herself as one of the country’s finest comedians in 2006 with her sell out Edinburgh show, Asylum Speaker. This led to the publication of her childhood memoirs, “A Beginner’s Guide To Acting English”, her best-selling literary debut.

Throughout her comedy career Shaparak has notched up numerous high profile television appearances, including: Live At The Apollo (BBC ONE), Mock The Week (BBC TWO), Channel 4’s Comedy Gala At The O2 (Channel 4, 2010 – 2016), Michael McIntyre’s Comedy Roadshow (BBC ONE), The Graham Norton Show (BBC ONE), Have I Got News For You (BBC ONE) and her own Comedy Store Special for Comedy Central. She also had the honour of being nominated at the prestigious British Comedy Awards in the Best Female Comic category up against Jo Brand and Sarah Millican. Shaparak has also appeared as a panellist on ITV1’s Loose Women and BBC One’s Question Time.

Shaparak has taken part in the iconic television & live show for Amnesty International, The Secret Policeman’s Ball, as well as performed at various festivals across the UK.

A seasoned and popular author and columnist, her screenwriting debut was in the form of Sky’s Little Crackers, and most recently she has been commissioned to write a drama script for BBC television.

Tour dates:

3rd Oct 2021 London Battersea Arts Centre 020 7223 2223 bac.org.uk

(Preview Show)

6th Oct 2021 Bracknell South Hill Park 01344 484123 southhillpark.org.uk

Arts Centre

8th Oct 2021 Chipping Norton The Theatre 01608 642350 chippingnortontheatre.com

6th Nov 2021 Salisbury Salisbury Playhouse wiltshirecreative.co.uk

25th Nov 2021 Nottingham Lakeside Arts 0115 846 7777 lakesidearts.org.uk

26th Nov 2021 Wolverhampton Bilston Town Hall 01902 497222 wolvescivic.co.uk/

21st Jan 2022 Otley Otley Courthouse 01943 467216 otleycourthouse.org.uk

22nd Jan 2022 Selby Selby Town Hall 01757 708449 selbytownhall.co.uk

23rd Jan 2022 Newcastle The Stand 0191 232 0707 thestand.co.uk/newcastle/

28th Jan 2022 Taunton The Brewhouse Theatre 01823 283244 thebrewhouse.net

& Arts Centre

29th Jan 2022 Leicester The Y Theatre 0116 255 7066 leicesterymca.co.uk/theatre/

3rd Feb 2022 Kendal Brewery Arts 01539 725133 breweryarts.co.uk

4th Feb 2022 Halifax Square Chapel 01422 349422 squarechapel.co.uk/

10th Feb 2022 London artsdepot 020 8369 5454 artsdepot.co.uk

11th Feb 2022 Crawley The Hawth 01293 553636 parkwoodtheatres.co.uk/The-Hawth

12th Feb 2022 Southampton The Berry Theatre 023 8065 2333 theberrytheatre.co.uk

19th Feb 2022 Maidenhead Norden Farm Centre 01628 788997 norden.farm/

for the Arts

20th Feb 2022 Birmingham The Old Rep 0121 359 9444 oldreptheatre.co.uk/

24th Feb 2022 Lincoln New Theatre Royal 01522 519999 newtheatreroyallincoln.co.uk

25th Feb 2022 Hexham Queen’s Hall Arts Centre 01434 652477 queenshall.co.uk

26th Feb2022 Barnard Castle The Witham 01833 631107 thewitham.org.uk/

5th March 2022 Folkestone Quarterhouse 01303 760750 creativefolkestone.org.uk/folkestone-quarterhouse

6th March 2022 Colchester Arts Centre 01206 500900 colchesterartscentre.com/

20th March 2022 Bath Komedia 01225 489070 komedia.co.uk/bath/

16th April 2022 Norwich Theatre Playhouse 01603 630 000 norwichtheatre.org

29th April 2022 Andover The Lights 01264 368368 thelights.org.uk/

13th- 14th May 2022 Oxford Arts at the Old Fire Station 01865 263990 oldfirestation.org.uk

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: