Get behind the scenes at the Royal Opera House with daytime events, activities and festivals for all ages in 2020

Brit News, Business, Celeb

Try something different this January: experience one of the many interactive and immersive workshops, events and performances at the Royal Opera House. With free weekly drop-in Live at Lunch performances, Ballet Dots and Opera Dots classes for tiny tots, Crafternoons craft workshops and Family Sundays, there something for everyone at the ROH in 2020.

 

Live at Lunch – free weekly pop-up opera or ballet performances on Fridays or Sundays. No ticket required.

  • Sunday 5 January, 1pm
  • Friday 10 January, 1pm
  • Sunday 19 January, 1pm
  • Friday 24 January, 1pm
  • Friday 14 February, 1pm
  • Friday 21 February, 1pm
  • Friday 28 February, 1pm
  • Friday 13 March, 1pm
  • Sunday 15 March, 1pm
  • Friday 20 March, 1pm
  • Friday 27 March, 1pm
  • Friday 17 April, 1pm
  • Friday 24 April, 1pm
  • Friday 1 May, 1pm
  • Friday 15 May, 1pm
  • Friday 22 May, 1pm
  • Friday 29 May, 1pm

 

Family Sundays – a day for the whole family to discover ballet and opera through fun and immersive crafts, performances and activities – suitable for children aged 3 to 10 years old. Tickets cost £8-£10.

  • Sunday 12 January, 11am
  • Sunday 29 March, 11am
  • Sunday 26 April, 11am
  • Sunday 24 May, 11am

 

Dots Day – our youngest fans (3 months to 5 years) can enjoy an immersive day of activities. Tickets cost £5 per child and £10 per adult.

  • Saturday 22 February, 11.30am

 

Opera Dots – our youngest fans can discover the world of opera in a 45-minute participatory workshop. Tickets cost £5 – £10.

  • Monday 6 January – 10.30am (3 months to 12 months), 11.30am (12 months to 2.5 years), 12.30 (12 months to 2.5 years)
  • Monday 27 January – 10.30am (3 months to 12 months), 11.30am (12 months to 2.5 years), 12.30 (12 months to 2.5 years)
  • Monday 2 March – 10.30am (3 months to 12 months), 11.30am (12 months to 2.5 years), 12.30 (12 months to 2.5 years)
  • Monday 16 March – 10.30am (3 months to 12 months), 11.30am (12 months to 2.5 years), 12.30 (12 months to 2.5 years)
  • Monday 20 April – 10.30am (3 months to 12 months), 11.30am (12 months to 2.5 years), 12.30 (12 months to 2.5 years)
  • Monday 4 May – 10.30am (3 months to 12 months), 11.30am (12 months to 2.5 years), 12.30 (12 months to 2.5 years)
  • Monday 11 May – 10.30am (3 months to 12 months), 11.30am (12 months to 2.5 years), 12.30 (12 months to 2.5 years)

Ballet Dots – discover the world of ballet in 45-minute participatory workshops. Tickets cost £5 – £10.

  • Monday 13 January – 10.30am (3 months to 12 months), 11.30am (12 months to 2.5 years), 12.30 (12 months to 2.5 years)
  • Monday 24 February – 10.30am (3 months to 12 months), 11.30am (12 months to 2.5 years), 12.30 (12 months to 2.5 years)
  • Monday 9 March – 10.30am (3 months to 12 months), 11.30am (12 months to 2.5 years), 12.30 (12 months to 2.5 years)
  • Monday 30 March – 10.30am (3 months to 12 months), 11.30am (12 months to 2.5 years), 12.30 (12 months to 2.5 years)
  • Monday27 April – 10.30am (3 months to 12 months), 11.30am (12 months to 2.5 years), 12.30 (12 months to 2.5 years)

 

Crafternoons – try your hand at the crafts that help bring the ROH productions to life – suitable for age 16+. Tickets cost £15.

  • Saturday 18 January – make flowers and accessories with the Hats and Jewellery Department
  • Saturday 29 February – make magic flutes with the Props Department
  • Saturday 14 March – try fan painting with the Dye Department
  • Saturday 4 April – work on ribbon embellishments with the Costume Department
  • Saturday 2 May – make leatherwork purses with the Armoury Department

 

Dance with The Royal Ballet – learn dance steps inspired by ballets performed at the Royal Opera House – suitable for ages 14 +. Tickets cost £10.

  • Friday 10 January, 2.15pm
  • Friday 14 and 28 February, 2.15pm
  • Friday 20 March, 2.15pm
  • Friday 17 April, 2.15pm
  • Friday 1 and 15 May, 2.15pm

 

Sing at the Royal Opera House – sing some of the world’s most beautiful music in our fun and lively classes, suitable for ages 14 +. Tickets cost £10.

  • Friday 17 January (4pm)
  • Friday 31 January (2.15pm)
  • Friday 21 February (2.15pm)
  • Friday 13 March (2.15pm)
  • Friday 24 April (2.15pm)
  • Friday 4 May (2.15pm)
  • Friday 29 May, (2.15pm)

 

Ballet Studio Live – watch Royal Ballet dancers as they take part in class and rehearsals in the iconic Paul Hamlyn Hall. Tickets cost £15.

  • Friday 24 January – 10.30am, 12.15pm and 1.35pm
  • Tuesday 17 March – 10.30am and 12.15pm
  • Wednesday 18 March – 10.30am and 12.15pm
  • Friday 3 April – 10.30am, 12.15pm and 1.35pm
  • Friday 29 May, 12.15pm and 1.35pm

 

Recitals at Lunch – watch the professionals in action, performing wonderful recitals in the ROH Crush Room – suitable for ages 14+. Tickets cost £12.

  • Monday 6 January, 1pm
  • Monday 13 January, 1pm
  • Monday 20 January, 1pm
  • Monday 27 January, 1pm
  • Sunday 16 February, 4pm
  • Monday 17 February, 1pm
  • Monday 24 February, 1pm
  • Monday 2 March, 1pm
  • Monday 9 March, 1pm
  • Monday 16 March, 1pm
  • Monday 23 March, 1pm
  • Monday 30 March, 1pm
  • Monday 6 April, 1pm
  • Monday 20 April. 1pm
  • Monday 27 April, 1pm
  • Monday 4 May, 1pm
  • Monday 11 May, 1pm
  • Monday 18 May, 1pm
  • Monday 31 May, 4.30pm

 

Leave a Reply