Irish artist Aoife Nessa Frances releases new single entitled “Emptiness Follows”

Partisan Records have signed Irish artist Aoife Nessa Frances, who today has released a new single entitled “Emptiness Follows” with accompanying video.

The track is a mesmerizing, pastoral piece of psych-folk, the playfulness of Aoife’s instrumentation juxtaposed by her beguiling voice as she meditates on the pain of friendships drifting apart (“the weight of the water / it holds you and tortures time away from you”). It’s also the first taste of the follow up to her much loved 2020 debut ‘Land of No Junction’, with further details to come later on that.

Aoife elaborates on the song’s origins:

“”Emptiness Follows” is about the intimacy and deep emotional connection of friendship. The song captures these moments — the water as the weight of the emotional connection we share, the small details we remember ‘the shape sits beneath your earlobe’. The movement and colour of the music, the harp constantly flowing throughout, are emphasising a profound importance in acknowledging an eternal kind of love. I wanted my voice to be close and up front and vulnerable like Serge Ginsberg’s ‘ Histoire de Melody Nelson”.

The accompanying video was directed by filmmaker Zoe Greenway and was shot in the South of Ireland in Kinsale, Co Cork. Greenway contextualizes: “The video for Emptiness Follows emulates an impressionistic vision of memories. The juxtaposition of light and dark imagery replicates a feeling of fragmented remembrances. The evocative visual textures explore the distorted yet halcyon nature of memory.”

It’s a perfect visual representation of Aoife’s thrilling emotional and sonic landscape. Where Frances’ powerful voice lights a path through intricate arrangements and psychedelic flourishes.

A cassette release of “Emptiness Follows” will include the B-side “Emptiness Follows (Dreams of Our Love),” an experimental alternative to the A-side. Both are available to listen to digitally now and out physically June 17th.

Aoife has spent time in the west of Ireland over the last two years working on new music. Her 2020 debut album ‘Land of No Junction’ won praise from Uncut, The Quietus, MOJO, Aquarium Drunkard and Pitchfork, with the latter describing Aoife’s voice as “…a headlight in fog. Her debut abounds with deceptively serene serenades and surprising lyrical shifts.”

Upcoming Tour Dates:
01 NOV 2022 / UK / Leeds / Brudenell Social Club
02 NOV 2022 / UK / Manchester / Castle Hotel
03 NOV 2022 / UK / Glasgow / Nice n Sleazy
04 NOV 2022 / UK / Todmorden / Golden Lion
05 NOV 2022 / UK / Nottingham / Rough Trade
06 NOV 2022 / UK / Bristol / Rough Trade
08 NOV 2022 / UK / London / Moth Club
09 NOV 2022 / UK / Brighton / Prince Albert

Tickets go on sale 11th May at 10AM.

%d bloggers like this: